Legislation filed to end state worker social security benefit discrimination
April 28, 2020
2020 Legislative Update #3
May 4, 2020

LRTA Announces 2020-2022 State Officers

The Louisiana Retired Teachers Association is pleased to announce the incoming District Presidents and state officers for the 2020-2022 term.

Although some districts were not able to hold elections due to the postponement of District Meetings, these District Presidents have agreed to continue to serve on the board until the district is able to hold elections.

LRTA District Presidents:

District I – Theodore George
District II – Jerilyn Williams
District III – Alva Martin
District IV – Peggy Aime
District V – Celina Richard
District VI – Wilda Chelette
District VII – Walter Rogers
*District VIII – Genevieve Gordon
District IX – Freddy Rivers
*District X – David Gullatt
District XI – Jerry Paige

*Genevieve Gordon was re-elected to a second term as District VIII President. David Gullatt was elected as District X President.

In addition, Nancy Quigley will continue to serve on the LRTA Executive Board and Executive Committee as Immediate Past President. Alva Martin will also continue to serve as District Representative on the Executive Committee.

“I want to welcome the new board members and new officers to the 2020-2022 term,” says Nancy Quigley, who will now serve as Immediate Past President. “I am glad that I will remain on the board as Immediate Past President and look forward to working with the board. We all need to stay safe and practice social distancing, and I hope to see everyone soon.”

Effective April 29, 2020 these officers will assume their positions.

State President – Janis Hernandez

As president of LRTA, Mrs. Hernandez will preside at all meetings of the association, the Executive Board and the Executive Committee. She will also appoint all standing and special committees, with approval of the Executive Board. She is responsible for performing other such duties as needed to carry out the purposes of the association.

Mrs. Hernandez previously served as First Vice-President and State Membership Chair. She also served as Second Vice-President and State Programs Chair from 2016-2018.

First Vice-President – Lazette Watterson

In addition to serving as First Vice-President, Mrs. Watterson will also serve as State Membership Chair. She will be responsible for working with the district first vice presidents on membership promotion. 

Mrs. Watterson served as the Second Vice-President from 2018-2020.

Second Vice-President – Clyde Hamner

Mr. Hamner will serve as Second Vice-President and State Programs Chair. He will be responsible for working with the district second vice presidents on program promotion.

Mr. Hamner earned both of his bachelor’s degrees and master’s in education at Nicholls State University. He completed additional graduate hours with LSU, Nicholls State University, Tulane University and Loyola University. Mr. Hamner spent his teaching career in Terrebonne Parish and served as adjunct faculty at NSU. He also served on the TRSL Board of Trustees from 1992-2008.

Mr. Hamner is a member of Terrebonne Retired Teachers and serves as Treasurer and member of the Executive Committee. He has also served extensively in legislative roles with LRTA, including testifying at the State Capitol in May 2019 to oppose HB 28. Mr. Hamner currently serves on the Terrebonne Parish School Board.

“I’m honored and excited to serve as state president,” says Mrs. Hernandez. “I look forward to continuing to work with Nancy and Lazette, and I’d like to congratulate and welcome Clyde Hamner to the board. Although we’re in a time of much uncertainty, please know we are continuing to work hard to represent Louisiana’s retired teachers.”

Congratulations to our new officers! Though we wish we could honor them in person, we are excited for our officers to begin their work to serve LRTA and MAKE RETIREMENT YEARS GREAT!

Rodney R. Watson
LRTA Executive Director