Janis Hernandez Named President of Louisiana Retired Teachers Association
June 17, 2020
Clyde Hamner Named Second Vice President of Louisiana Retired Teachers Association
June 17, 2020

Lazette Watterson Named First Vice President of Louisiana Retired Teachers Association

(Baton Rouge, La.)- Lazette Watterson, a Bogalusa resident, was recently named first vice president of the Louisiana Retired Teachers Association. In addition, Watterson will serve as the state membership chair.

Click on image to download.

As first vice president, she will be responsible for working with the district first vice presidents on membership promotion. Watterson will also preside at meetings in the absence of the president.

Previously, she served as second vice president for LRTA. In recognition of her leadership, LRTA honored Watterson with the Name of Fame award in April of 2019.

“I am excited and honored to continue to serve LRTA,” says Watterson. “I look forward to the next time we are able to meet.”

Watterson earned a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education and Library Science from Southern University, where she is a life member of the Alumni Association. She also has a master’s +30 degree from Southeastern Louisiana University. Watterson is an active member of St. Paul A.M.E. Church and the Tau Iota Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

The Louisiana Retired Teachers Association is a membership organization solely devoted to protecting and enhancing benefits for individuals receiving retirement benefits from the Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana. LRTA represents over 20,000 retired educators and continues to promote the professional, social and economic welfare of all Louisiana retired educators. For more information about LRTA, visit lrta.net.