LRTA Announces 2020-2022 Executive Committee
November 5, 2020
Three Reasons Why Public Pensions are Cheaper Than Other Retirement Plans Like 401(k)s
November 19, 2020

LRTA Presents 2020 Unit Challenge Winners

In 2014, LRTA launched the Unit Excellence Challenge.  The purpose was to challenge local units of retired teachers to strive for excellence in their programs and activities, to engage their current members and recruit new ones, to participate at the district and state level, and to use the resources provided by the state office in striving to make retirement years great. The current pandemic presented extra challenges to our Units. Despite this, some Units were able to complete the activities outlined in the challenge either remotely or before the pandemic began. LRTA recognizes that many Units could not complete some of portions of the Unit Challenge, especially when LRTA decided to cancel the Spring and Fall Meetings for the safety and health of the membership. LRTA asked Units to submit the Unit Challenge forms completed to the best of their ability so we may recognize them as accepting the Unit Challenge for 2020.

Congratulations to the 2020 Unit Challenge Winners!

Acadia Parish RTA – Rebecca Butler, President

Mary B. Amos RTA – Lue Pearl Washington, President

Assumption Parish RTA – Linda Gaudet, President

Beauregard RTA – Julie Porter, President

Bogalusa RTA – Jo Anna Frazier, President

Bossier RTA – Annette Lee, President

Caddo RTA – Emma Shepard, President

Caddo-Bossier RTA – Raymond Love, President

Calcasieu Parish Unit of Retired Teachers – Anna Green, President

Calcasieu-Cameron RTA – Mary Margaret David, President

Cenla RTA – Jesse Turner, President

Educators of Yesteryear – Dorothy Wilson, President

Iberia RTA – James Broussard, president

Iberville RTA – Barbara Davis, president

Jefferson RTA – Dr. Carol D. Henry, President

Lafourche Parish RTA – Beth Plaisance, President

Lincoln Parish RTA – Barbara Kirkland, President

Livingston Parish RTA – Cheryl Lass and Chairmaine Vernon, Co-Presidents

Sabine RTA – Chris Nolen, President

St. Bernard RTA – Paul Grethel, president

St. Charles RTA – Billy Picard, president

St. James Parish RTA – Lucy Craig Kennedy, president

St. Landry RTA – Patricia Woods, president

St. Tammany RTA – Eric Sacks, president

Union RTA – Janice Savage, president

Vermilion Parish RTA – Mollie Charpentier, president

Vernon Parish RTA – Beryl Ford and Tresa Abramson, co-presidents

West Baton Rouge RTA – LeRoy Washington, president

Winn RTA – Tommy Bankston, president


Watch the presentation below. 

Congratulations, again, to our 2020 Unit Challenge Winners!

Rodney R. Watson
LRTA Executive Director